Annual Meeting & Awards Taskforce February 17, 2012 @ 1:00 p.m. Teleconference Call

Present Absent

Cindy Moon Aaron Ferguson

Dean Johnson, ISWCDEA RC Co-Chair Colleen Bogner, Auxiliary

Debra Slade, ISWCDEA AC Co-Chair

James Todd

Jane Brangenberg

Jannifer Powelson

Jody Christiansen, NRCS

Darrell Roegge

David McCormick

Jannifer Powelson

Judy Beyers, Auxiliary

Lonnie Wilson Marie Bunting, Auxiliary President

Marty McManus, IDOA Shelley Finfrock Mike Rahe, IDOA Terry Davis

Rich Nichols Tess Ferguson, Auxiliary

Sherry Finn Tom Beyers

Van Bitner, Chair

Call to order:

Van Bitner called the meeting to order at 1:04 p.m.

Roll Call:

Sherry Finn took roll call; 11 members present and 12 members absent.

Agenda Approval:

Van Bitner asked for any agenda updates; Sherry Finn asked for the addition of Registration and Theme & Logo.

New Business:

Annual Meeting Date/Times:

Annual Meeting is scheduled for Monday and Tuesday, July 23 and 24, 2012 at the Northfield Inn and Conference Center in Springfield, IL.

Opening Ceremonies:

The opening ceremonies will take place on Monday, July 23, 2012 from 9:00 a.m. until 10:30 a.m.; including Color Guard, Pledge of Allegiance, opening remarks from AISWCD President, Vice President, Auxiliary President, Forestry Committee Chair, and Partner representatives. Newly elected Directors will be recognized, Director Service Awards will be presented and Outstanding District Employee Nominees will be recognized. Photos will follow.

Recognition Luncheon:

The luncheon will be on Monday, July 23, 2012 from 12:15 p.m. – 1:45 p.m. with awards being presented to George McKibben Scholarship recipient, Employee of the Year, Illinois Envirothon Team Winner, Teacher of the Year, Auxiliary Poster and Photo Contest Winners, and ISWCDEA Scholarship recipient. Sherry Finn asked Jody Christiansen from NRCS if she would be willing to serve as the photographer for Award winners and Directors. She confirmed she would be able to serve as photographer. Sherry Finn asked members to contact her with possible sponsors for awards and annual meeting luncheon expenses. Debi Slade asked if the ISWCDEA could be contacted in advance about the cost of their award for the Employee of the Year and Sherry Finn said they could select and order their own award.

Director Training:

Van Bitner noted that he had already been in contact with Jerry Snodgrass to confirm he would be able to serve as the trainer for the Director Training modules along with Lee Bunting and Terry Bogner.

Employee Training:

Van Bitner stated that he had contacted Debi Slade and confirmed the ISWCDEA would be taking care of providing training sessions and session speakers for the Employee Training portion of the Summer Conference. Dean Johnson noted there would be CPESC training held on Monday at the Northfield Inn during RC training time slots.

Farm Family Reception and Banquet:

The banquet will take be held on Monday, July 23, 2012 at 6:30 p.m. until approximately 9:00 p.m. The Auxiliary will again host the reception, which will be held at 5:30 or so and until 6:15 or so. Jane Brangenberg has offered to serve as the host for the Auction Item Review from 8:00 p.m. until Auction starts. There was discussion about having banquet if there are no farm family applicants or only 1 applicant. There was agreement from the Board Members that the banquet would be held regardless of the number due to the fact there will be a Legislator of the Year Award Winner and a Friend of Conservation Award winner.

Auction:

The AISWCD Auction will be held immediately following the Farm Family Banquet.

Soil Stewardship Luncheon:

Sherry Finn informed the committee that she had been in contact with Marie Bunting, the AISWCD Auxiliary President, and she had approved the Soil Stewardship being held for lunch rather than breakfast since the Northfield offers a free continental breakfast for all guests; this includes guests staying at the Ramada across the street.

Volunteers:

Van Bitner thanked Cindy Moon for agreeing to serve as the coordinator of the Annual Meeting volunteers.

Partners:

Sherry Finn asked Debi Slade and Dean Johnson if they would be available to say a few remarks and report at the opening ceremonies and they said they would; Mike Rahe said someone from IDOA would have remarks. Invites will be issued to all AISWCD Partners to present either at opening ceremonies and/or Annual Board Meeting.

Theme/Logo:

Several themes were suggested: Strategizing for Tomorrow Stepping up for the Future Conservation: The Next Generation Gateway to the Future

Everyone seemed to like Conservation: The Next Generation, but was suggested to change to: Conservation for the Future: The Next Generation.

Jane Brangenberg made the motion to accept the theme "Conservation for the Future: The Next Generation" and Lonnie Wilson seconded; MCVV.

Van Bitner asked for a motion to accept the tentative agenda and time slots. **Lonnie Wilson motioned to approve the tentative agenda and time slots and James**

Todd seconded; MCVV.

Discussion followed about the Auctioneers and everyone agreed Jim Sacia would be asked to serve and Sherry Finn asked James Todd if he would check with Ron Sanert to serve as backup. Jim said he would ask Mr. Sanert and we would have to provide Farm Family Banquet tickets to Mr. Sanert and his wife. Rich Nichols will notify Mr. Sacia to see if he is willing to serve again.

Registration:

Sherry Finn said the Registration forms would be available by April 15, 2012 and would include meals and training sessions. Tickets will be issued for both and name tags or photo IDS will be required. She asked if there should be a late fee for registrations. It was agreed there should be one and the dates and fees were set as follows:

2012 AISWCD 64th Annual Meeting/Summer Conference Registration Fee: \$40 2012 AISWCD 64th Annual Meeting/Summer Conference Deadline Date: Friday, June 29, 2012

2012 AISWCD 64th Annual Meeting/Summer Conference Late Registration Fee: \$50 2012 AISWCD 64th Annual Meeting/Summer Conf. Last Date to Register: Friday, July 13, 2012

Cindy Moon made the motion to set the registration deadline date for Friday, June 29, 2012 with a \$40 registration fee and to set the last date to register for Friday, July 13, 2012 with a late registration fee of \$50 and Dean Johnson seconded; MCVV.

Next Meeting Date:

A decision was made to have another Annual Meeting and Awards Taskforce teleconference call on: **Thursday, March 15, 2012 at 9:00 a.m.**

Adjournment:

Motion to adjourn made by Debi Slade; seconded by Lonnie Wilson, MCVV.

Minutes taken and submitted by:

Sherry Finn, AISWCD Administrative Assistant